The first charge of the National Gallery is the development and care of the national art collections. Other important services are the arrangement of loans and exhibitions from abroad and from its own holdings for showing in Canada and abroad, the promotion of good industrial design and general extension work consisting of the distribution of reproductions for educational purposes, lectures, educational tours, publications, school broadcasts and art films.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Three Rivers, Montreal, Vancouver, and Churchill. The Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council.—In 1917 the Research Council Act was passed and in 1928 laboratories for scientific research were established at Ottawa. The National Research Council now has Divisions of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Building Research, Mechanical Engineering, Radio and Electrical Engineering, Pure and Applied Physics, Applied Biology and Medical Research. Regional laboratories have been established at Saskatoon, Sask., and Halifax, N.S.

Patentable processes and improvements developed by the Council are made available under licence to industry through a Crown company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, and any profits from the licensing arrangements are used for further research and development.

The Minister of Trade and Commerce as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research is responsible to Parliament for the National Research Council.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta Statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Northwest Territories Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self sustaining basis. The Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The Commission is composed of a Chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council; it operates hydroelectric plants on the Snare River in the Northwest Territories and on the Mayo River in Yukon Territory and a diesel electric plant at Fort Smith, N.W.T. The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of Government war built ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appropriate duties. It has no staff of its own, any necessary work being done by the staff of the Canadian Maritime Commission (see p. 117). The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Polymer Corporation Limited.—This Corporation was established in 1942 by Letters Patent under the Companies Act and is subject to the Companies Operation Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 133) and the Financial Administration Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 116). It was set up to construct and operate a synthetic rubber plant which now produces a variety of synthetic rubber products. The plant is located at Sannia, Ont. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.—The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 242) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority is incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Authority is composed of a President, a Vice-President and a Member and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Trans-Canada Air Lines.—TCA came into being by Act of Parliament in 1937 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 268) to provide for the development of a government-controlled scheduled transcontinental air services. Transatlantic air services which were inaugurated by the Department of Transport during World War II were later turned over to TCA. TCA now maintains passenger, mail and commodity traffic services over nationwide routes and also services to the United States, Mexico, England, Scotland, Ireland, France, West Germany, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, Barbados and Trinidad. TCA is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Unemployment Insurance Commission.—The Commission was appointed on Sept. 24, 1940 under the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act, 1940 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 273) for the purpose of administering the Act and providing a national employment service. It is composed of three Commissioners—a Chief Commissioner, a Commissioner appointed after consultation with organizations representative of workers, and another after consultation with organizations representative of employers. The Chief Commissioner holds office for ten and each of the other Commissioners for five years. The Commission is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.